top of page

"Of Royal Descent," by Ember Shane


*This will also be posted on Booklikes, and Goodreads. Doyle Hawthorne is a 21-year-old college student who sets out with his best friend Chuck Johnson to search for his biological grandfather. Along the way they uncover more then they ever could have bargained for and realize a darker entity lives among them. Of Royal Descent is full of action, deceit, love, bravery, humour, and the best of all: Zombies. What more could you ask for? This is the perfect combination of everything I love in a novel. The author knew what she was doing when writing this, no doubt. The writing flows well and kept me immersed in the story as it was so easy to fall into. The way Zombies are described, their origin, and what they are to everyone else around them is so intriguing and not something I've read before. Especially how they act and the process of turning into one once the disease has been activated. Now, characters. I love them all. Well, okay maybe not Bradbury. He's horrible to everyone and he takes darkness to a whole new level. But other then him they are all easy to love. I especially love Doyle and Chuck's friendship. They have such a great bond, and Chuck stays by Doyle's side the entire time even when Doyle was an ass and it's just great. I just really love how bonded they are, how much they care. They aren't afraid to tell each other they care. In fact, all of the characters are ones with large hearts (with the exception of Bradbury, MZs [mindless zombies], and soldiers under Bradbury's orders). They all help in some way and you can tell they only want what's best for the people around them. Of Royal Descent is now one of my favourite books, and I hope to get my hands on the second book soon. So I recommend this to everyone. As long as you don't mind violence. Or slightly sexual scenes (it's never explicit or too bad). But yes, please read Of Royal Descent. I'm sure most of you will love it!

Rating: 4.5/5

~Juliann

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page